My Blender & My New Creation

IMG_5054Growing up, I never really like paw paw (a.k.a. papaya as it’s known in my household), but I think I’ve sort of grown to like it because I know it’s good for you. My parents always used to say how much they miss how it taste like in the Philippines. It’s true. It taste a million times better when grown in tropical countries. In tropical countries, the flesh of paw paw is often in shades of pink or red. The Reds taste mellow, refreshing, and deliciously sweet. They have a distinctive taste compared to the Yellows, which have a stronger, musky, and slightly bitter taste. Tip #1: the bitterness of yellow paw paw can be neutralised to almost any palate using lemon juice and honey. I can picture myself right now eating fresh paw paw just picked from the tree, smiling and sitting on a meadow full of sunflowers, without a care in the world.

IMG_5052So anyway, I rummaged through my fridge in search for a few I-need-to-get-back-on-track-to-being-healthy-again ingredients to aid my paw paw creation, which I was about to whip up. I found celery sticks, half a Granny Smith apple and coconut water. I also chucked in some honey and chia seeds. And what do I get? The Ka-pow Paw Paw Crushie! Paw paw paw paw contains vitamins A, C and E, is rich in antioxidants, and is low in calories and sodium. In addition, it also contains small amounts of calcium, iron, riboflavin, thiamine and niacine (really good stuff). Another good thing to stock up on in your pantry is chia seeds. Chia seeds are one of nature’s ancient foods. It has the highest plant based source of Omega 3, fiber and protein. It even goes into over kills, as it is loaded with vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. You can get them in the health food aisle at your local Coles or Woolies. You can even choose to go for black or white chia seeds (though there are no major nutritional differences), just to be a bit classy. The tiny seeds can be made to taste like whatever you want, so they are pleasant as an addition to jams, dressings, crumb coatings, salsa, smoothies, and according to Pinterest, pudding pops!

DSC_0172

Thoughts, queries, feelings. Let it out. Tell me here.

