Blueberries & sparkles

312568-11530-49

Blueberries are insane. I highly recommend the super fruit, as they packed with antioxidant power! Antioxidants work to neutralise free radicals linked to the development of cancer, cardiovascular disease, and the progression of ageing. No one wants wrinkles! I say defy nature, and eat blueberries [insert Mr Burn’s evil hand gesture when he says, “Excellent”]. Actually, the shade of the first coat of nail polish I applied is called Blueberry by Crabtree & Evelyn. It is reasonably easy to apply, as it glides through the brush smoothly. After applying twice, the end result produced a glossy, bold shade of what I’d call Galaxy Blue, with a hint of shimmer [insert spirit fingers dance from Bring It On]. So far no chipping has occurred, and it’s now day 3, which points that these nail lacquers are top dog! They seem to provide long-lasting wear, which of course is what every girl wants.

IMG_4283

Normally Crabtree & Evelyn nail lacquers retail for $15, with a collection that consists of 19 shades and a clear lacquer that can act as both a colour-adhesive base and a protective finish top coat. Also, their nail lacquers have been formulated without ‘the bad stuff’ i.e. camphor, dibutyl phthalates, formaldehyde and toluene. This year I signed myself up to be a Christmas casual beauty advisor with Crabtree & Evelyn (a.k.a. Christmas elf), which has meant that I was able to relish in their 50% off Christmas promotion for casual employees. Win! I went all out of course!

ce-nail-polish

On top of the base nail colour, I used Australis Nail Glitter Top Coat in Glitter Strikes Back ($7.95) for an instant glitter effect.To give my nails a budge of an edge, the 3rd finger in mauve was painted with Covergirl Outlast Stay Brilliant Nail Gloss ($6.95) in the shade Vio-Last 300. To give it a protective finish and a little sparkle I used Bourjois 1 Seconde Nail Polish ($12), which is a silicon-enriched gel formula with a very impressive fan-effect brush. I really liked the brush! And of course the magic touch to seal the deal, Sally Hansen’s Dry & Go Drops ($14.95). One drop on each nail is plenty. This is a little secret I like to use, as these drying drops not only dries polish in 60 seconds, but it helps prevent against smudges and chipping. It’s a brilliant little secret that I discovered from a good friend, M, when I slept over her house and she gave me a mini-manicure. Also, don’t forget to use a base coat such as Eclipse Long Lasting Quick Dry, which is a Korean brand. They used to have little pop-up stores in various Westfields, but they seem to have disappeared. Any other base coat nail polish should do the trick.

Yours truly,

from a 22-year-old girl who simply loves a good manicure.

Thoughts, queries, feelings. Let it out. Tell me here.

